Skip to main content
In this help article, we’ll show you how to move a group manager to a different plan in the same group.

Change a group manager’s plan

If you’ve set up a plan-change group, you can move a group manager (and their members) to another plan in that group. Make sure the current plan and the destination plan are in the same group, or that both are set to Any ungrouped plan. The destination price must also have Available for plan changes enabled.
You can’t change a group subscription’s plan while external payments are enabled. The group manager must also have a credit card on file to follow these steps. Instructions on moving an externally paid group with no card on file can be found here.
Here’s how:
1

Open the group subscription

Go to the group manager’s profile and click the subscription link.
2

Start the plan change

Click Change.
Change the manager's plan
3

Select the new plan

Select a different plan from the list.
Select the manager's plan
4

Confirm the change

Click Confirm and change plan.

Move an externally paid group to another plan

If a group pays externally and the group manager doesn’t have a credit card on file, the option to Change won’t appear on the subscription. Instead, add a new subscription on the destination plan and move the members to it. Here’s how:
1

Add the new subscription

On the group manager’s profile, click Add a new subscription, select the destination plan, and start it without charging. For details, see Add a subscription.
2

Enable external payments

On the new subscription, toggle on Enable external payments. If you log an external payment, uncheck Renew the subscription with this payment so the renewal date doesn’t change. For details, see Accept external payments.
3

Match the renewal date

Change the new subscription’s renewal date to match the old subscription.
4

Add the group members

Add the group members to the new subscription. Members don’t move over automatically, so it helps to keep the old subscription open in another tab to copy their emails.
5

Delete the old subscription

After you’ve confirmed that all members are on the new subscription, delete the old subscription. This also stops the external payment seat fees on it.
If you use welcome emails or automations in your email service, they’ll be sent when the new subscription is added.

Switch a group subscription to an individual subscription

To switch a group subscription to an individual subscription, first remove all group members except the group manager. Once only the group manager remains on the subscription, you can move them to an individual plan in the same plan group. If there are still additional members on the group subscription, the switch won’t be available. This helps prevent accidentally removing access for members who are still part of the group.