Set member attributes

In this help doc:

Set up UTM parameters

UTM parameters ( utm_source, utm_medium, utm_campaign, utm_content, utm_term) are tags that you can add to a URL to track where your members came from. You can generate these URLs with Google’s URL builder.

You can add the UTM parameters to a URL pointing to your site or a specific Memberful Plan purchase link. For example, this link would tell you which members visited your site from a specific Twitter campaign:

https://YOURSITE.com?utm_campaign=springpromo&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter

Set up custom parameters

If you’d like to track custom parameters (such as number of viewed pages) you must insert a JavaScript function called memberfulTrackingData() into the page that contains the purchase link for your plan.

<script>
function memberfulTrackingData(parameters) {
  parameters.customParameter = "Value";
  return parameters;
}
</script>

Replace customParameter with the name of the custom parameter you want to track, and Value with the data you want to assign for this member's parameter.

You can insert that snippet directly into the HTML of your page.

For custom parameters to work, you must have integrated Memberful with your website by following the instructions at Settings → Connect with your website.

Where does Memberful collect these parameters?

When a customer clicks a URL with a UTM parameter or a custom parameter, Memberful collects these parameters during checkout and displays them as Attributes in the member's profile.

Member attributes

This information (with the exception of custom parameters) is also captured in the Members CSV export, which you can generate from the Members tab. Additionally, if you've configured the Google Analytics integration, any custom parameters will be passed through to Google Analytics.

The first time a potential-member visits your site (with the Memberful plugin running) their "referrer" value is set. So, even if they sign-up later after coming in from a different link, as long as they're using the same browser they'll get the original referrer value.

The exception being if the member switches their browser/device or deletes local data in the browser before they sign up, in which case the referrer can be set again. The value is stored in browser local storage (not a cookie), and the different browsers all have their own policies on how long this data lives per-site. In most cases it will stay indefinitely until a user manually clears it.

Can't find what you're looking for? We'd love to help! 💪

Send us a message through the orange chat bubble in the lower right corner of the page. You'll hear back within a few hours Monday - Friday. 😀